Protective Order? Restraining Order?

Bond?

Peace

This handout is meant to explain the difference between restraining orders, protective
orders, and peace bonds. There is often confusion between the three. Many people, including
some in law enforcement, believe that the three terms mean the same thing. The terms do
not mean the same thing.

This handout summarizes the uses, benefits, and restrictions of each. Links to the Texas
statutes and rules are available on the research links page at http://www.co.collin.tx.us/law

library/index.jsp. For more information, read these Texas laws:

Protective Order: Texas Family Code, chapters 71 through 85

Restraining Order: Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, starting at 680
Peace Bonds: Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, article 7

z Temporary
Which to Protective Order Restraining Order Peace Bond
Choose? (TRO)

What is the
situation?

You have been stalked/sexually
assaulted or, harmed by a family
member, member or former
member of the same household,
someone you dated, someone that
your current dating
partner/spouse used to date or be
married to, someone you share
children with and you fear the
abuser will harm you again.

What does it
do?

Who can help?

You want the court to
order the other party not
to harm you or your

property.

Someone has threatened to
harm you or your property,
and you believe she or he will |
carry out the threats. '

Orders the abuser to stay away
from you and your household,
your home, your work and your
school. Will suspend the abuser’s

- right to carry a gun. Addresses can

be kept confidential in some
circumstances by court order.

Collin County District Attorney’s

Office: (972) 548-4323, or
Private attorney, Legal Aid, or pro

Orders the other party in a
lawsuit not to harm your
property, or to threaten,
harass, or harm you or your

children.

Orders the person making
threats to deposit money with
the court, which will be lost
if the he or she commits the
threatened crime.

Your attorney can help
you with the TRO. If not,

- You can hire an attorney to

TR you can file for a TRO help you or do it yourself.
;:br:rl;g € oTms e yourself.
\tlr\::lere do | file District Clerk’s Offi File in the office where Justice of the Peace court, in
paperwork? strict Lerks € you filed your lawsuit. the precinct where you live.

How long does
it last?

Up to 2 years in most
circumstances.

Until your lawsuit ends.

Up to one year.




About Protective Orders:

What is a
Protective Order?

A protective order is a civil court order with criminal consequences. A protective order
protects family violence victims for up to two years, in most circumstances, and if violated,
can result in an arrest.

What can a
Protective Order .
do? °

Order the abuser to stay away from you, your house, your work, and your
school/daycare.
Order the abuser to stay away from family members named in your application.

Order the abuser not to call or harass you or not to have any communication with you.
Suspend the abuser’s right to carry a gun.

A Protective Order is only made of paper. It cannot stop fists or weapons. A Protective Order

A Protective

does not offer 24-hour police protection. It can’t protect you from someone who doesn’t

Order is not think about consequences or care about being arrested.
1
bullet proof! To keep yourself safe, speak to a domestic viclence counselor about making a safety plan. Do
this even if the judge gives you a Protective Order.
You.can apply for a protective orderif the abuser:
o hassexually assaulted/stalked you.
OR
o has physically harmed you, or tried to physically harm you; and
How can 1 appl * isafamily member, member or former member of the same household, someone

for a Protective
Order?

you dated, someone that your current dating partner/spouse used to date or be
married to, someone you share children with; and

will likely hurt you again.
In Collin County, the District Attorney’s Office can.help you get a Protective Order. Call
the District Attorney’s office at (972) 548-4323, or go to the office on the lower level of the
Collin County Courthouse, 2100 Bloomdale Road. Or, using a private attorney, Legal Aid, or
pro se using the forms in the law library

There is no fee to apply for a Protective Order.

There are 3 main

ypes of Protective Orders.

How long Who issues the . »
Type does it last? | Protective Order? How is it enforced?
. . e Arrest when violated
2 years (in A district or county court

Protective Order

most cases)

judge.

s Some provisions may be enforced

Temporary Ex-Parte
Protective Order
(TXPO)

Up to 14 days

A district or county court
judge. The temp. ex parte

. protective order may be

granted when an
application for a
protective order is filed,
and the court believes
you are in immediate
danger. It will be in place
unti] the court can have a
hearing on your request

for a protective order.

by civil contempt law suit

® May include a “kick-out” order
that orders the abuser to vacate the
home but only if the viclence
occurred within the last 30 days
and the applicant lived there

within the last 30 days.
» Arrest when violated if abuser has

been served with the order.

Emergency Protective
Order (EPO)

Up to 90 days

Municipal Court after the
abuser is arrested.

Arrest when violated.




About Restraining Orders:

What is a TRO or

A temporary restraining order is a civi] court order that preserves property and

foraTRO?

Temporary protects parties who already have a lawsuit filed, including lawsuits for divorce.
Restraining
 Order? It orders someone not to do certain things.
Wha tcana TR o o Order the othér lawsuit party not to-harm your property
do? ‘ .. e Orderthe other lawsuit party not to harass, threaten or harm you or your
_ -children.. , ‘ _
e Kick your spouse out of the home'your spouse livés in.
e Order the other lawsuit party not to spend money for reasonable or necessary
A TRO cannot: living expenses.
¢ Make orders that keep the other lawsuit party from doing his or her job.
e Order temporary custody of a child.
L - Youcan apply fora restraining, order if you have filed a c1v11 lawsmt, like divorce;
'How-¢an'! apply “custody or modification of custody. You apply. by including a motion in your petition

‘ot by a separate motion filed with the court after the pet1t1on to start the lawsuit has
_been filed. ) ] '

. In Collin County, by local rule all family law cases like d1vorce patemlty, Chlld

Isn’t there an
automatic TRO?

custody or support have a TRO that goes into effect as soon as a case is filed. In these
cases, all parties are ordered not to destroy rarital property, disconnect utilities, or
do things that might harass the other party or harm the children. Collin County
Standing Order Regarding Children, Property and Conduct of Parties. You cari see a
copy on the Collin County civil district court website.

There are 3 main types of Restrammg Orders:

o How long o " How isit. _Notice to Opposing
— Type: - i does it last? )“Who; 'ss"e§ it? enforced? . Party?
Temporary Assotiate or District A civil lawsuit called Notice is not required,

Up to 14 days

Restraining Order judge “Contempt of court” | but is preferred
*”Temporary o Iljnti.lh.th_é ﬁnal Assoc'iate;'orr D_istrict‘r A oiyﬂ 1’.:slvysujt.-éalled._' ' Notlce and Heanng
Injunction order by court. ; judge “Contempt of court” .Requlred )
Permanent Unadl further Associate or District A civil lawsuit called Notice and Hearing
Injunction orders by court | judge Required

“Contempt of court”




About Peace

What is a
Peace Bond?

What can a
Peace Bond do?

Bonds: f SaLs
A peace bond is a court order designed to keep the peace by protecting some one
who has been threatened, but not harmed. When a judge issues the Peace Bond he is |
ordering the person who made the threats to deposit money with the court. If the
person who made the threats commits the threatened criminal action then the
_deposited money will be given to the state. e P——
A peace bond warns someone not to break the law. If the person breaks the law,
then he or she will face criminal charges andlose the money (the bond) deposited
with the court.

Peace Bonds are
- not bullet proof!

How can |
apply fora
Peace Bond?

- How long will it
last?

Upto 1 year

A Peace Bond is only made of paper. It cannot stop fists or weapons. A Peace Bond
does not offer 24-hour police protection. It can’t protect you from some one who
doesn’t think about consequences or who doesn’t care about being arrested or losing
the bond money.

If you fear for your safety, speak to a domestic violence counselor about making a

_Safety Plan.

You can apply for a peace bond if someone has threatened to harm you or your
property. You apply for a Peace Bond by filing a Peace Bond Complaint and
Statement of Offense by Complaining Party with the Justice of the Peace in your
precinct.

If the crime has already happened, a criminal complaint should be filed with the
_police or sheriff, instead of a Peace Bond.

Who issues a peace - Do you need to give the
bond? 5 How is it enforced? other person notice?

. Loss of bond money. ! Yes, it is required. Ask the clerk
Justices of the Peace e Possible arrest for . in the Justice of the Peace office |
. criminal action. | how to give legal notice.

There are 5 Justices of the Peace (JP) Courts and 5 Constable’s Offices in Collin County.

You can see a map of the precincts at http://www.co.collin.tx.us/justices peace/index.jsp.

Precinct 1 \ Precinct 2 Precinct3-1  Precinct 3-2 Precinct 4

| | 406A Raymond St. ' |

. Administration Bldg. = Farmersville, TX 75442 920 E. Park Blvd. | 920 E. Park Blvd.

- 2300 Bloomdale Rd. Suite 220 Suite 210 8585 John Wesley
Suite 1164 2000 N SH 78 e Frisco, TX 75034

' McKinney, TX 75071

(972) 548-4125

= Plano, TX 75074 Plano, TX 7507
Wylie, TX 75098 ano 50 | ano 5074

| (972) 782-8671 (972) 424-1460  (972) 424-1460 ext.

731-7300
(972) 442-3289 ext. 3001 3051 &)
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Are you in need of a protective order?
Please review the attached information from the law library to determine if your
circumstances qualify you for a protective order.

If you qualify for a protective order, you have four options:

1 Pro Se (file for a protective order without the assistance of the district
attorney or a private attorney).
You may go to the Collin County Law Library, located on the lower
level (LL) of the courthouse. A librarian cannot give you any legal
advice but they will direct you to the necessary form for you to fill out
and file with the District Clerk’s Office (located on the first floor) to
request a protective order. You will also need to request through the
District Clerk to have the person served that you are getting a
protective order against. You will need a hearing date and this can be
obtained by contacting the court coordinator of the court in which your
protective order case is assigned.

2, District Attorney’s Office

Go to the Collin County District Attorney’s Office receptionist area
and state to the receptionist that you are there for help getting a
protective order. The District Attorney’s office is located on the lower
level (LL) of the courthouse. Plan on spending at least an hour
completing the application. Our office is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
p.m. Your protective order application will be reviewed and you will
be contacted to set up an appointment to meet with a domestic
violence prosecutor.

Additional information regarding our application process is available
online at: www.collincountyda.com

3. Legal Aid
You may contact legal aid and see if you qualify for them to help
guide you through the process of obtaining a protective order. Their
number is (972) 542-9405 and their website is www.lanwt.org. A list
of legal aid clinics throughout Collin County is attached to this packet
for your review.

4. Private Attorney
You may hire an attorney to help guide you through the process of
obtaining a protective order.



