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New on the

Shelves

Baker’s Texas Criminal
Evidence Handbook, Lang
Baker, 2009.

Baker’s Texas Drugs & DWI
Handbook, Lang Baker,
2009.

Baker’s Texas Family Code
Handbook, Lang Baker,
2009.

Baker’s Texas Penal Code
Handbook, Lang Baker,
2009.

Bender’s Federal Practice
Forms: federal rules of
criminal procedure, 2009.

Child Custody and Visita-
tion Law and Practice,
Sandra Little, 2009 .

The Law Library is proud to
offer the latest State Bar
of Texas Custom CLE Ad-
vanced Criminal Law
Course to attorneys.

The cost is $341.00 per
person. For this price, you
will view the DVDs and
receive a copy of the
course books (in print or

Courtroom Handbook on
Texas Evidence, 2009.

Navigating the Federal
Trial, Robert Larsen, 2009.

0O’Connor’s Business Or-
ganizations Code Plus,
2009.

0O’Connor’s Federal Em-
ployment Codes Plus, 2009.

O’Connor’s Property Code
Plus, 2009.

0O’Connor’s Texas Crimes &
Consequences, 2009.

Police Misconduct, Law and
Litigation, Michael Avery,
2009.

Texas Criminal Procedure:

flash format) for you to

keep. This course provides

42 hours of participatory
credit and 4.75 hours of
ethics credits.

A minimum of two attor-
neys must participate each
time the course is adminis-
tered; the course must be
completed within a single

codes and rules, 2009.

Texas Criminal and Traffic
Law Manual, 2009-2010
Edition.

Texas Elder Law, Molly
Abshire, 2009.

Texas Penal Code: with
tables and index, 2010.

USCA: RIA's Complete
Analysis of the Tax and
Benefits Provision of the
American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009,
Thomson West.

All print materials are
available for attorney
checkout.

calendar month.
The course has been re-

served for the months of
November and December.

Please contact the Law
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Contact
Information:

Librarian should you wish
to reserve it for a future
month.

Lori Bull Dodds
Law Librarian
Phone: 972-548-4260
Email:
ldodds@co.collin.tx.us

Hours of Operation:
Monday—Friday
8:00 am—5:00 pm

Staff is available for a
presentation to your
organization.

RECEIVE THIS
NEWSLETTER
VIA E-MAIL!

If you would like to
receive this newsletter
via email, please call
the library at 972-548-
4260 or email me at:
ldodds@co.collin.tx.us




IN THE SPOTLIGHT

Articles and Websites of Interest

Attorney General Identify Theft Information
http://www.texasfightsidtheft.gov/

The Attorney General of Texas has created a webpage
for victims of identity theft and for those who want to
protect themselves from becoming victims.

Information provided includes the AG’s downloadable
Identity Theft Toolkit.

Reverse & Render, Legal Blog
http://www.reverseandrender.com/

Published by Cowles & Thompson’s
Appellate Law Section
Provides insightful commentary on
Texas appellate law, focusing on
Dallas and North Texas opinions.

“Five Steps to Improve your Legal
Writing”
Cherisse Mastry Patton, Consumer
& Commercial Law, v. 13, no. 1
(2009), p. 17-19.

Patton provides these pointers: (1)
Play by Your Own Rules. In other
words, maintain consistency through-
out your writing. If you use a comma
before “and” in a series, do so every

down in the revision process. A perfectly good sentence
is revised into an embellished, incoherent mess. Keep
short sentences which make strong points and limit your
editing time. (3) Avoid Blatant Errors. Keep a cheat
sheet for those terms or usage rules which routinely trip
you up. (4) Use Commas Wisely. Comma use is generally
a matter of personal style. However, they must be used
to set off nonessential clauses. A nonessential clause is
one that can be deleted from a sentence without chang-
ing the sentence’s meaning. (5) Play to the Crowd. Al-
ways know who your audience is and write to that audi-
ence.

time. (2) Use Your Time Wisely. Most writers get bogged

““Suggestions for the First Time Litigator
In Probate Court™
Judge Gladys B. Burwell, State Bar Litigation
Section Report: The Advocate,
v. 48, Fall (2009), p. 94-98.

Judge Burwell points out several key factors for the at-
torney heading into a court with probate jurisdiction for
the first time. Most importantly, the attorney must know
what type court the case will be heard in. Whether it is
a statutory probate court or constitutional county court
determines how the case could proceed. The Govern-
ment Code will give the jurisdiction of the court and
answer questions such as jury size and what to include in
the initial pleadings. The attorney should obtain a copy
of any local or administrative rules or
any judge-issued administrative or-
ders that may affect the case. Unless
directed differently by the Probate
Code, the Rules of Civil Procedure
govern all probate cases. Judge Bur-
well discusses rules related to fees,
service and notice which have been
known to trip up first-time attorneys
in Probate Court. She points out that
most personal service citations in Pro-
bate Court have a return date of 10
days to the Monday next rather than
the 20 days in other courts. Under-
standing of the statutes of descent
and distribution is also vital for attor-
neys in any heirship proceedings. With
regard to guardianship, the attorney
should be familiar with the disqualification statutes and
the cases where courts have determined standards and
issues for disqualification. Attorneys should also be
aware of the court’s control of attorney’s fees and reim-
bursable expenses. V.A.T.S. Probate Code Sec. 233(c)
and V.A.T.S. Probate Code Sec. 665C(b) specifically
deal with contingency fee contracts. Judge Burwell’s
article is a must-read for any attorney appearing in Pro-
bate Court for the first time, and for those who need a
refresher.

Copies of these entire articles may be obtained in the
Law Library or from the Law Librarian via email:
Idodds@co.collin.tx.us.
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Please bear with us while

we are short-staffed. We
will be back to full
capacity before long!

To view a list of cases and other materials that cite your case, click Citing References on
the Links tab in split-page view or KeyCite Citing References at the bottom of the KeyCite
History page in full-page view.

The first portion of the KeyCite citing references result lists all negative citing cases, fol-
lowed by a list of other cases, administrative materials, secondary sources, and briefs citing
your case. Citing cases are categorized by the depth of treatment they give your case. Quo-
tation marks indicate the citing case directly quotes the cited case.

To restrict the list of citing references to those discussing points of law dealt with in spe-
cific headnotes, click the Headnotes arrow in the left frame of the KeyCite Limits page, or
hold your pointer over the arrow next to Limit KeyCite Display at the bottom of the KeyCite
citing references result and choose Headnotes from the displayed menu. A list of topics and
key numbers under which the headnotes from the cited case are classified is displayed in
the right frame. Select one or more check boxes preceding the topics and key numbers and
click Apply.

excerpted from Using KeyCite in westlaw.com

Sorry for the Delay!

As most of you are aware, within the next few weeks. As always, feel free to call,
the newsletter was due out Bear with us while we are drop by, or email me at any
in September. Please forgive  short-staffed. time with questions, com-
the delay. ments, or concerns.

Please be assured that the

I’m settling into my new level of service you have Idodds@co.collin.tx.us
position as Law Librarian, come to expect from the
and | hope to fill the Assis- staff at the law library will 872-548-4260

tant Law Librarian position remain the same.

The Collin County Courthouse (and the Law Library) will be closed on the following upcom-
ing holidays:

November 26 and 27 for Thanksgiving.
December 24-25 for Christmas.

A full listing of county holidays can be found on the county website at:

http://www.co.collin.tx.us/holidays.sp.




Did you know . . .

Marriage and Divorce Verifica-
tions can be ordered through
the Texas Department of State
Health Services.

A Verification is a letter con-

firming whether or not a mar-
riage or divorce was recorded
in the State of Texas.

Orders may be made online at
www.Texas.gov or by

mailing an Application to Texas
Vital Records, Department of
State Health Services, P.O. Box
12040, Austin, Texas, 78711-
2040.

Each verification costs $20.
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: A big thanks to the
Frisco Bar Asso-
ciation for their
underwriting of
Judy McCullough’s
retirement party.
We greatly appreci-
ate your generous

support!
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