Texas Supreme Court mandated eFiling Effective January 1, 2014
This important date is on the horizon as Collin County – and the State of Texas – courts head to mandatory electronic filing – or, eFiling.
Beginning January 1, the Texas Supreme Court requires all Civil, Family and Probate cases to be filed electronically. This applies to all levels of our local court system:
County Courts at Law and
District Courts. Collin County is already live and accepting filings.
Collin County Civil, Family, and Probate E-Filing Requirements for more information.
Training May Be Available - Check with eFileTexas.gov or local bar and legal associations for training programs regarding eFiling.
Collin County Clerk – Probate eFiling FAQs
More information can be found at
The County Clerk’s Office does not recommend specific software with which to participate in the eFiling process, however, we have provided a few links to videos on the Adobe website that explain some of the features required in filed documents.
How to add a bookmark (sample in Acrobat X)
How to OCR (sample in Acrobat X)
How to add page numbers (sample in Acrobat XI)
Fee Changes Effective September 1, 2013
Per HB 2302, effective September 1, 2013, all new civil and probate case filings and motions will increase by $20.00.
Per HB 2302, effective September 1, 2013, the criminal county court cost base fee will increase by $5.00.
For more information please contact the eFileTexas Hotline:
County Court at Law Clerks – 972-548-6451 or
Probate – 972-548-6495 or
Collin County Clerk
Coming Soon: The Probate & Mental Departments will accept credit cards.
NEW! Attorney Court Records On-Line Access
This new service gives attorneys the opportunity to access court records on-line. For more information go to the
Attorney Subscriber Agreement.
NEW! Revisions to Rule of Civil Procedure 78a
The Civil Cover Sheet is required for all civil filings. Two versions are provided below for your convenience:
Civil Cover Sheet
Supplemental Instructions for Self-Represented (Pro Se) Litigants
Spanish Civil Cover Sheet
Spanish Civil Cover Sheet Instructions
The mission of the Collin County Probate Department is to effectively manage all estate and guardianship cases, to assist
Collin County citizens with the transfer of ownership of property upon death, and to provide a prompt response to public inquiries with courtesy and accuracy.
Links & Resources
Probate Filing Fee Schedule
Frequently Asked Questions
Resources & Links
Legal Effects of Not Having a Will
Annual Report of Guardian of the Person
Registry Funds Deposit Information Sheet (Attorneys Only) - For use by attorneys, the information provided on this form is to be used for investing registry funds into an interest bearing account and should be submitted with the application for direction of deposit.
Trust Handling Fees - Texas Local Government Code states that when the County Clerk is ordered to release funds from the Court Registry all transactions processed will be assessed a trust handling fee.