- Title or MCO: Original signatures required. Acceptable ID is required at the time of title transfer. No alterations
The original title or MCO (Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin) must
be dated and signed by the sellers (all persons shown on the front of
the title must sign) and the buyers (all persons shown on the application
form, 130-U, must sign.) An MCO will only have space for the seller
to sign. Therefore, a separate odometer statement must be signed by
both the buyer and the seller.
- Release of Lien (if applicable)
A signed and dated release of lien is required if the previous owner
had a lien recorded on the title. The release may be signed off the
title itself or may be a separate form.
- Proof of Insurance: Current insurance required. Must meet Texas minimums: 30/60/25. "NO FAULT" Insurance coverage is not acceptable.
Proof of insurance is required in the name of the buyer. Insurance on
another vehicle can be shown for up to 30 days from the date of sale
unless the vehicle was previously titled and registered out of state.
- Title Application: 130-U. Original signatures from buyer or
A completed and signed application for Texas title, 130-U. This form
can be faxed on demand from 1-888-232-7033 or downloaded through the
Department of Motor Vehicles website.
- Supporting Evidence (if applicable)
Other supporting evidence may be required on an individual basis. Example:
Out of state vehicles require an inspection form, VI-30-A. Commercial
vehicles sometimes require a weight slip. Other supporting evidence
may be Power of Attorney, Odometer statement, repossession form, dealer
- Emissions Test Results: Exemptions include: 1996 or newer with
less than 50,000 miles, diesel, motorcycle, antique, title only, or
Proof of emissions test is required at the time of a retail sale on
a used vehicle only if the vehicle was previously registered
in a non-compliance county.
You are NOT REQUIRED PROOF if vehicle is exempt or you bought your vehicle
from one of the following counties: Brazoria, Dallas, Denton, Ellis,
El Paso, Ft Bend, Galveston, Harris, Johnson, Kaufman, Montgomery, Parker,
Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, and Williamson. Updates to these counties
are listed on the Department
of Public Safety website.
- Fees Payment
Credit Cards are now accepted for motor vehicle transactions. The service charge for
credit card payments is 2.34% of the transaction amount (minimum $1.00). We accept VISA,
MasterCard, Discover and American Express cards. Checks accepted at the counter only
if pre-printed with customer name,
current address, and presented with a current Texas driver's license.
The address must match the current vehicle record.
The title transfer fees will be tax, title, and license. Usually the
sales tax is due. You may be eligible for an exemption or you may qualify
for another type of tax. Tax of 6.25% is due on either the SPV (Standard
Presumptive Value, posted on this site: www.txdmv.gov),
or the purchase price of a vehicle; or on the certified appraisal value.
Legislative changes, effective October 1, 2006 changed the way we calculate
motor vehicle sales and use tax on used vehicles to a private party.
Please contact the office to determine the type of sale and the tax
due. Please refer to the Texas
Motor Vehicle Tax Manual for more information. The title fee is
$33.00, and the license fees vary. Contact the office for exact license
To avoid penalties, transfer title within 30 Calendar days
from date of sale or entry into Texas.
Sales tax penalties: After 30 Calendar days, an additional 5%
of the sales tax is assessed, and increases to 10% if not transferred
after an additional 30 calendar days.
Transfer penalties: A $25 transfer penalty is assessed if vehicle is
not transferred within 30 Calendar days. $25 will be added for every
additional 30 days not transferred.
Mail or Bring to Tax Office
Texas vehicle transfers may take place in the county of the buyer, seller,
or lienholder. Please see the vehicle
registration page for Collin County Tax Office address and contact