NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
ON TAX INCREASE

A tax rate of $0.149343 per $100 valuation has been proposed by the governing body of County of Collin,

PROPOSED TAX RATE $0.149343 per $100
NO-NEW-REVENUE TAX RATE $0.145881 per $100
VOTER-APPROVAL TAX RATE $0.153169 per $100

The no-new-revenue tax rate is the tax rate for the 2025 tax year that will raise the same amount of property tax
revenue for County of Collin from the same properties in both the 2024 tax year and the 2025 tax year.

The voter-approval rate is the highest tax rate that County of Collin may adopt without holding an election to
seek voter approval of the rate.

The proposed tax rate is greater than the no-new-revenue tax rate. This means that County of Collin is proposing
to increase property taxes for the 2025 tax year.

A PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PROPOSED TAX RATE WILL BE HELD ON August 25, 2025 AT 1:30 PM AT Collin County
Commissioners Courtroom, 2300 Bloomdale Road, McKinney, TX 75071,

The proposed tax rate is not greater than the voter-approval tax rate. As a result, County of Collin is not required

to hold an election at which voters may accept or reject the proposed tax rate. However, you may express

your support for or opposition to the proposed tax rate by contacting the members of the Collin County

Commissioner’s Court of County of Collin at their offices or by attending the public hearing mentioned above.
YOUR TAXES OWED UNDER ANY OF THE RATES MENTIONED ABOVE CAN BE CALCULATED AS FOLLOWS:

Property tax amount= (tax rate) x (taxable value of your property)/100

FOR the proposal: Susan Fletcher, Commissioner Pct.1  Darrell Hale, Commissioner Pct. 3
Duncan Webb, Commissioner Pct. 4

AGAINST the proposal:  Chris Hill, County Judge Cheryl Williams, Commissioner Pct. 2

PRESENT and not voting:

ABSENT:

Visit Texas.gov/PropertyTaxes to find a link to your local property tax database on which you can easily access
information regarding your property taxes, including information about proposed tax rates and scheduled public
hearings of each entity that taxes your property.

The 86th Texas Legislature modified the manner in which the voter-approval tax rate is calculated to limit the
rate of growth of property taxes in the state.

The following table compares the taxes imposed on the average residence homestead by County of Collin last
year to the taxes proposed to be imposed on the average residence homestead by County of Collin this year.

2024 2025 Change

Total tax rate (per $100 of value) | $0.149343 | $0.149343 increase of 0.000000 per $100, or 0.00%
Average homestead taxable value | $508,633 $544,948 increase of 714%

Tax on average homestead $759.61 $813.84 increase of 54.23, or 714%

Total tax levy on all properties $327430,138 | $347524,023 | increase of 20,093,885, or 6.14%

No-New-Revenue Maintenance and Operations Rate Adjustments

State Criminal Justice Mandate

The County of Collin Auditor certifies that County of Collin has spent $11,989,471 in the previous 12 months for the
maintenance and operations cost of keeping inmates sentenced to the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
County of Collin Sheriff has provided County of Collin information on these costs, minus the state revenues
received for reimbursement of such costs. This increased the no-new-revenue maintenance and operations rate
by $0.001558/$100.

Indigent Defense Compensation Expenditures

The County of Collin spent $12,260,693 from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 to provide appointed counsel for indigent
individuals in criminal or civil proceedings in accordance with the schedule of fees adopted under Article 26.05,
Code of Criminal Procedure and to fund the operations of a public defender’s office under Article 26.044, Code of
Criminal Procedure, less the amount of any state grants received. For the current tax year, the amount of increase
above last year's indigent defense compensation expenditures is $1,588,656. This increased the no-new-revenue
maintenance and operations rate by $0.000238/$100.

For assistance with tax calculations, please contact the tax assessor for County of Collin at 972-547-5020 or
taxassessor@collincountytx.gov, or visit www.collincountytx.gov for more information.
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