Collin County Clerk's Office
Collin County Administration Building
2300 Bloomdale Rd., Suite 2106
McKinney, TX 75071
972-548-4153 or 972-548-4163 (McKinney)
972-424-1460 ext. 4153 or 4163 (Metro)
Collin County Clerk's Office - Plano
900 E. Park, Suite 140-C
Plano, Texas 75074
972-424-1460 ext. 3025 (Metro)
Effective Wednesday, May 1, 2019, the business hours for the Plano office will be 8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Business hours for the McKinney location will be 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT: The Texas Department of State Health Services has announced it will be launching a new Vital Statistics management system on Tuesday, January 1, 2019.
Effective December 28, 2018 at 4:00 p.m., the current system will be taken off line and no longer accessible; therefore, any birth records or death records filed after that date
will not be available for issuance until Wednesday, January 2, 2019.
CERTIFIED COPIES OF BIRTH AND DEATH CERTIFICATES:
Effective September 1, 2015, all applications for certified copies of Birth and Death certificates which are mailed into the County Clerk's office must be signed in front of a notary public, per Health and Safety Code, Sec. 191.0031.
For information on contacting other Texas County Clerks visit the
Texas Secretary of State: County Clerks webpage.
Should you have any questions you may contact our Vital Statistics Department at 972-548-4185 or by e-mailing
The following may apply for a Birth Certificate:
You must be a qualified applicant in order to apply for a birth certificate (a parent, including step, grandparent, sibling, spouse, adult child or yourself). Anyone else must have a signed (original) notarized statement authorizing them (naming them) to pick up the birth certificate. This statement must include a copy of your government issued ID. The person named in your request must present their original government issued ID also.
The following information is required:
- Full name as it appears on birth record
- Date and county of birth
- Parents' names, including mother's maiden name
- Your relationship to person named on certificate
- Your mailing address
- Purpose of record
- In writing you will need to send a notarized application and a copy of your valid government issued ID
- In person you will need to provide your original valid government issued ID
- Cost per copy is $23.00, payable to the Collin County Clerk
- Please do not send cash through the mail
- Turn around time is 7 business days when applying by mail. If you apply for the birth certificate in person, we will print it out for you while you wait.
- For more information call 972-548-4185 Metro 972-424-1460 ex. 1+4185
The above information is required by statute,
Texas Administrative Code Sec. 181.28. Birth records are considered confidential information; therefore, all requirements must be met. If you are unable to meet the requirements, please contact the State Bureau of Vital Statistics in Austin. The toll-free phone number is (888) 963-7111. The fax number is (512) 458-7506.
Birth records are not normally available in the County Clerk's Office for approximately one (1) to two (2) weeks following date of birth. For other counties, no sooner than three (3) weeks from date of birth.
Any Texas Birth Certificate may be purchased in Collin County. The county has a remote access system to the State's records dating from 1926 to present.
Birth Records Prior to 1903 - Collin County started keeping official records in 1903, but we do have delayed Birth Certificates prior to 1903. For information on genealogical searches, contact the Genealogy Collection at the State Archives Library at 512-463-5463. Or you may contact the County Clerk's office in the county where the birth took place.
Links & Resources
Birth Certificate Application (Mail In)
Birth Certificate Application (Walk In)
Spanish Birth Certificate Application (Mail In)
Spanish Birth Certificate Application (Walk In)
Frequently Asked Questions