County Historical Commission Wins State Award for 14th Straight Year

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) has recognized the Collin County Historical Commission with a Distinguished Service Award. The THC issues this award each year to county commissions who demonstrate ongoing, well-rounded programs of history and preservation. The award was presented to representative members of the historical commission by County Judge Keith Self and County Commissioners Cheryl Williams, Susan Fletcher and Duncan Webb during the July 17th court session.  

This is the 14th consecutive year that the county historical commission has received this award.

"County Historical Commissions act as grassroots leaders for preservation in communities across Texas," said THC Executive Director Mark Wolfe. "The Texas Historical Commission presents this Distinguished Service Award to the Collin County Historical Commission to honor its ongoing efforts to save the real places that tell the real stories of Texas."