County announces vaccine partnership with local cities

Bookmark and Share

Collin County is launching a new cooperative partnership with several local cities to assist in COVID-19 vaccine registration and distribution. The first cities to join the partnership are Allen, Anna, Celina, Lavon, Lowry Crossing, Lucas, McKinney, Melissa, New Hope, Princeton, Prosper, and Wylie. Other cities are expected to join soon.

[Update Jan, 8, 2021: The list of partners on the vaccine wait list has expanded to include: Allen, Anna, Blue Ridge, Celina, Fairview, Farmersville, Frisco, Josephine, Lavon, Lowry Crossing, Lucas, McKinney, Melissa, Murphy, Nevada, New Hope, Parker, Plano, Princeton, Prosper, Richardson, Sachse, Saint Paul, Weston, Wylie, and Collin College.]

As part of the partnership, the cities and Collin County will share local resources and cooperate for vaccine registration and vaccine distribution. Collin County Health Care Services (CCHCS) and the cities will jointly utilize the new online vaccine registration website launched on Tuesday. By this morning, more than 45,000 Collin County residents had registered for the vaccine wait list.

On Dec. 28, CCHCS received 1,000 doses of the Moderna vaccine. The original 1,000 vaccine doses have all been administered or scheduled for people in Phase 1A and 1B categories. As of this morning, the county has yet to receive any new shipments of the vaccine from the Department of State Health Services. When additional doses are provided by the state, CCHCS and the partnering cities will coordinate to administer the vaccine as quickly as possible to the individuals on the wait list.

Due to the limited volume of vaccines available to Collin County, individuals are encouraged to contact their primary health care provider and their local pharmacy to inquire about additional vaccine availability. Please note that most private health care providers (pharmacies, hospitals, physicians) maintain their own vaccine waitlists separate from the Collin County wait list.