Two judges added to Court Security Committee

Bookmark and Share

Two state district judges have joined Collin County's Court Security Committee, which sets security policies and procedures for the county's growing court system.

Judge Benjamin Smith, Presiding Judge of the 380th Judicial District Court and the Local Administrative District Judge for Collin County, has appointed Judge Piper McCraw of the 469th Judicial District Court, and Judge Andrea Bouressa of the 471st Judicial District Court, to the committee.

The committee, established in March, is comprised of judges and law enforcement officials. It is charged with adopting security policies and procedures for the courts, and with making recommendations to the Commissioners Court for the use of resources and funding for court security.

Current members of the committee include:

  • Judge Barnett Walker, Presiding Officer, County Court at Law No. 2
  • Judge Benjamin Smith, Local Administrative District Judge, 380th Judicial District Court
  • Judge Corinne Mason, Local Administrative Statutory County Court Judge, County Court at Law No. 1
  • Judge Weldon Copeland, Presiding Judge, Collin County Probate Court
  • County Commissioner Darrell Hale, Precinct 3
  • Judge Chuck Ruckel, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3, Place 1
  • Constable Sammy Knapp, Collin County Constable, Precinct 3
  • Chief Investigator Kim Pickrell, Collin County District Attorney's Office
  • Capt. Mitch Selman, Collin County Sheriff's Office
  • Fire Marshal Jason Browning, Collin County Fire Marshal's Office.

In the 2019 legislative session, two additional state district courts were created to support expanding caseloads in Collin County courts. Both will join the other eleven district courts on October 1. The county also supports seven county courts at law, a probate court, and five justice of the peace courts.