Open Records Requests
Open Records Requests
"Pursuant to section 552.301(c), Government Code, the Collin County Sheriff's Office Records Division has been designated to receive all electronic mail requests for public information. The Department is not responsible for responding to electronic mail requests sent to any electronic mail address other than the address for the Collin County Sheriff's Office Records Division."
To request information from this governmental body, please contact:
By mail or in person:
Collin County Sheriff's Office – Records Division
4300 Community Avenue
McKinney, TX 75071
By email to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Open records requests must be made in writing and there may be fees for the open records, depending upon the information that is requested.
*Please allow up to 10 business days for your request to be completed.
You may download the Open Records Information Request Form and send it to the Sheriff's Office by Email, regular mail or delivering in person. You will be contacted if fees are required, which must be paid prior to the release of records.
In an effort to provide prompt and efficient service, any request for information should include the following information (if known):
- Date of request
- Report number (if known)
- Type of report / incident (i.e. theft, burglary, etc.)
- Date of report (occurrence)
- Address where incident occurred
- Parties involved in accident
- Describe any other information to assist Records Division staff in locating desired record
NOTE: A $5.00 search fee will be charged to perform a search if the offense number, call for service number and/or jailing date you are requesting is not provided on your request.
Information concerning the Texas Public Information Act may be found at the Texas Attorney General's Open Government Section.
Listed are fees for commonly requested items. Other requests/items may incur additional fees. Those may be found here.
Accident Reports $6.00
Offense Reports $5.00
911 Recording CD $5.00
Booking Face Sheet $1.00
Call For Service $3.00
Crash Reports Click here to purchase online Crash Reports
Obtaining Crash Reports
You may obtain a copy of a Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report (CR-3) (regular
or certified) by using the Crash Report Online Purchase System. Customers using
the online system receive their report(s) immediately if the report is
available for purchase. There is a minimal surcharge for using this system. See
the crash site for information on obtaining a crash report online, confidentiality and
If the system cannot identify your
individual crash using the information provided, you will not be able to
purchase a crash report through this automated facility.
More Information to help you obtain the records you’re seeking:
CollinCounty Public Information Office
Open Records Tips
- if you’re not sure where to obtain the records you need.
CourtRecords - If you need
to look up a case, try our Online Judicial
Information Request Form