​Holiday Closing: all county offices are closed Monday, May 30, for the Memorial Day holiday, and will re-open Tuesday, May 31. This includes parks offices, public works, courts and all other administrative offices.

Past Sheriffs

Past Collin County TX Sheriffs

​​The first county election for Collin County was held July 13, 1846. The first District Court for Collin County was opened October 21, 1846. The first county seat for Collin County was "Buckner" and was located about four miles northwest of McKinney. The county seat was moved to McKinney in 1848.

1st Sheriff King Custer 1846-48
2nd Sherif Bob Fitzhugh 1849-53
3rd Sheriff James H. Lovejoy 1854-57
4th Sheriff J. Dud Doak 1858-60
5th Sheriff James R. Reed 1861-64
6th Sheriff Josiah Nichols 1865
7th Sheriff William C. Hall 1866
8th Sheriff Simon P. Burns 1867
9th Sheriff George A. Wilson 1868 part of 1869
10th Sheriff W.N. Bush 1869-72
11th Sheriff W.W. Merritt 1873-78
12th Sheriff Williams Warden 1879-84
13th Sheriff Gabe Beck 1885-88
14th Sheriff W.S. Phillips 1889-92
15th Sheriff J.L. Moulden 1893-96
16th Sheriff W.L. Coffee 1897-98
17th Sheriff J.W. Pafford 1899-1902
18th Sheriff Tom M. Beverly 1903-06
19th Sheriff George M. Eubank 1907-10
20th Sheriff A.T. Robertson 1911-14
21st Sheriff Albert McCauley 1915-18
22nd Sheriff Ed Blakeman 1919-22
23rd Sheriff W.F. Bishop 1923-24
24th Sheriff W.A. Kerby 1925-28
25th Sheriff Ed Blakeman 1929-32
26th Sheriff G.J.S. Walker 1933-36
27th Sheriff E.B. Moore 1937-40
28th Sheriff W.E. Button 1941-44
29th Sheriff William L. Brown 1945-48
30th Sheriff L.C. Brawley 1949-52
31st Sheriff Floyd E. Williams 1953-59
32nd Sheriff Mary Williams 1959-60 (completed husband's term)
33rd Sheriff J.S. Hand 1961-68
34th Sheriff Tom Montgomery 1969-72
35th Sheriff George Smith 1973-74
36th Sheriff Jerry W. Burton 1974-80
37th Sheriff Joe Steenbergen 1981-part of 1985
38th Sheriff Terry G. Box 1985-2016
​39th Sheriff ​Jim Skinner ​2017-present


Collin County Sheriff's Office
4300 Community Ave.
McKinney, TX 75071

Map to Justice Center


Main: 972-547-5100
Jail: 972-547-5200

Social Media:

Social Media Terms of Use

Facebook.png Twitter.png Nextdoor.png Youtube.png