​​​​​​​​​Preservation Celebration is the Collin County Historical Commission's way of recognizing and saying "thank you" to all local preservation volunteers who have worked so diligently all year long preserving Collin County history. ​

The Collin County Historical Commission's annual Preservation Celebration conference brings together individuals and organizations dedicated to the history of our county who are involved in such local preservation or education efforts. At the conference, awards are presented to individuals and groups who have made significant contributions to preserving our local heritage. See below for the link to the current year's award nomination form if you or your organization would like to nominate someone or a group for an award. The awards given are:

Collin McKinney Achievement Award:

Recognizes outstanding achievement of a Collin County historical organization or museum that has promoted the county's heritage with projects, museum education, historical tourism, the erection of tributes to the past, and/or the preservation of buildings, publications or records of historical significance.

Excellence in Historical Education Award:

Recognizes an individual or organization that has promoted historical education about Collin County, Texas, through teaching and/or preservation programs benefiting schools, community organizations, and/or the general public.

Leadership in Preservation Award:

Recognizes an exemplary Collin County city/town, business, or developer promoting respect for the county's past through historical projects and/or renovations of historic buildings or sites.

Living Legacy of Collin County Award:

Recognizes the outstanding achievement of an individual citizen of Collin County who has significantly enriched our cultural heritage through a lifetime of dedicated service to the ideals of preservation, education, and respect of our rich past.

Young Visionaries Award:

Recognizes an individual (18 years of age or less) or youth organization that has significantly contributed to the preservation of Collin County, Texas' historical heritage. Noteworthy activities include restoration or preservation projects, portrayalsof living history, promotion of historical tourism, creation of historicaleducation programs, service hours for a museum, historical organization or program, and/or other related volunteer efforts.

Preservation Celebration is an invitation-only event that is held at a different location each year. Past events have been held in Allen, Anna, Celina, Farmersville, Frisco, McKinney, Murphy, Plano, Prosper, and Wylie. Take a look at our past Award Winners.

​Make a Nomination​

Know someone or some organization deserving of any of these awards? Make a nomination for thePreservation Celebration Award Nominations, due Friday, March 15, 2024, before 4pm.

  • ​January 30th, Committee begins accepting nominations
  • March 18th to 22nd, Committee reviews nominations and makes recommendations
  • March 28th, CCHC votes on the Award Committee recommendations
  • March 29th, Winners are notified

Event Links

collapse Category : Award Form ‎(1)
Preservation Celebration Awards Nomination Form.pdfPreservation Celebration Awards Nomination Form
collapse Category : Award Winners ‎(17)
2023 Preservation Celebration Winners.pdf2023 Award Winners
2022 Preservation Celebration Winners.pdf2022 Award Winners
2021 Preservation Celebration Winners.pdf2021 Award Winners
CCHC_2020_Awards.pdf2020 Award Winners
CCHC_2019_Awards.pdf2019 Award Winners
CCHC_2018_Awards.pdf2018 Award Winners
CCHC_2017_Awards.pdf2017 Award Winners
CCHC_2016_Awards.pdf2016 Award Winners
CCHC_2015_Awards.pdf2015 Award Winners
CCHC_2014_ Awards.pdf2014 Award Winners
CCHC_2013_ Awards.pdf2013 Award Winners
CCHC_2012_Awards.pdf2012 Award Winners
CCHC_2011_Awards.pdf2011 Award Winners
CCHC_2010_Awards.pdf2010 Award Winners
CCHC_2009_Awards.pdf2009 Award Winners
CCHC_2008_Awards.pdf2008 Award Winners
Complete List of Award Winners 2008-Present.pdfComplete List of Award Winners 2008 - Present