Food Service and Health

​​​​​​​​​​Collin County only permits, performs inspections or investigations for public swimming pools, day cares, schools, food service complaints (including restaurants, food stores, schools, day cares, etc.) or food-related illness for the following areas:

  • Unincorporated areas (outside of any city's city limits)
  • Wylie city limits
  • Josephine city limits
  • Melissa city limits
  • Lowry Crossing city limits
  • Farmersville city limits
  • Weston city limits

To report a complaint regarding food, swimming pools or unsanitary conditions for any of the above areas, you may call 972/548-5585 during business hours or send a report via email​.

To report a suspected food-borne illness ("food poisoning") or unsanitary conditions involving food service or any other unsanitary condition/health complaint for any other city within Collin County, you will need to contact that city directly to make your report.


Food Service Establishment FAQs


What rules does the county use when inspecting a food service operation (including temporary operations)?

Collin County uses the Texas Food Establishment Rules (TFER) from Chapter 228 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. 


Do I need to permit with the County in order to sell food?

Collin County only permits establishments for food service (including restaurants, food stores, schools, day cares, mobile vendors, temporary events, etc.) for the following areas:

  • Unincorporated areas (outside of any city's city limits)
  • Wylie city limits
  • Josephine city limits
  • Melissa city limits
  • Lowry Crossing city limits
  • Farmersville city limits
  • Weston city limits

To permit food service for any of the above areas, you will need to apply through Collin County for a Food Service Health Permit.

To permit food service in any other city within Collin County, you will need to contact that city directly to obtain your permit.

Not sure if you are in our jurisdiction?  Take a look at the County's GIS map. 


What if I only want to operate a food business on a temporary basis or for a specific event?

Collin County allows food operators to obtain a Temporary/Short-Term Event Food Permit that will allow you to operate your establishment for a period on not more than 14 days at a single location.  Your application and payment MUST be received by Development Services five (5) business days prior to the 1st anticipated day of operation or your request for a permit will be denied. 


What is the cost of a food service permit?

All of our permit fees are included on our Permit Fee Sheet.


Does the county require Certified Food Management certification and/or Food Handling certification?

State law requires that "At least one employee that has supervisory and management responsibility and the authority to direct and control food preparation and service shall be a certified food protection manager who has shown proficiency of required information through passing a test that is part of an accredited program" and "Except in a temporary food establishment and the certified food manager, all food employees shall successfully complete an accredited food handler training course, within 60 days of employment."

 

How do I start up a food truck/food trailer/mobile food establishment in Collin County?

  • First, verify that you plan to operate your business within Collin County's jurisdiction (see “Do I need to permit with the County to sell food" section above for jurisdiction and to check the map).
  • One person will need a Food Service Managers Certificate. All other workers will need a Food Handlers Certificate (see “Does the County require Certified Food Management certification and/or Food Handling certification" section for links to information about State certification.
  • Commissary agreement to store your truck/trailer and food when not in use.
  • The truck/trailer will need to meet all State Requirements.
  • If you are applying for a temporary event permit, please complete the Temporary Application and pay the $25.00 fee (must receive completed application and fee at least 5 business days prior to the event).
  • If you are applying for an annual permit, please complete the Annual Application and pay the $150.00 annual permit fee (there will be 2 inspections a year, one at application/renewal and one random inspection some time that year).
  • If you are going to be operating within the limits of a city make sure you contact that city in order to sell within the city.
  • A valid tax ID to show that you are an approved business.

 

Make sure to check the State of Texas website for any General Information regarding starting a new food business and for Specific Information regarding starting a new mobile food business.


Food Service Permits

  
  
There are no items to show in this view of the "Documents" document library.