Open Records Requests (Public Information Act Request)

​​​The Sheriff's Office offers two ways of submitting open records request, online submission or a written request in person. We recommend using our Online Records Request and Response Service for a prompt response.

In accordance with the public information act, chapter 552 of the Texas government code, the Collin County Sheriff's Office makes all of its public records available to citizens. The public information act does not require governmental bodies to create new information, perform legal research, or to answer questions. The request must ask for records or information already in existence.

A fee will be collected as prescribed by law or regulation for the requested documents.

Listed are fees for commonly requested items:

  • Accident Report $6.00
  • Inmate Mugshot Photo $5.00
  • Offense Report $ 5.00
  • Dispatch Incident Log $3.00

Other requests/items may incur additional fees. Those may be found here

To request information:

Use the links below to submit your Open Records Information Request. You will be contacted if fees are required, which must be paid prior to the release of records. Please allow up to 10 business days for your request to be completed. If you have questions, please email our Records Section

internet icon   Submit your record request online to Sheriff's Office Open Records Section

Purchase Online Crash Reports Purchase online Crash Reports through the Texas Department of Transportation C.R.I.S Website.

Request in person Submit a written request in person at the lobby of the Sheriff's Office,

4300 Community Avenue.

McKinney, TX 75495

Monday through Friday between 8am and 5pm.

Policies Regarding Requesting Open Records

Please read the following policies before requesting open records:

  • Open records requests must be made in writing and there may be fees for the open records, depending upon the information that is requested.
  • All open records requests are released on a case-by-case basis, according to the Public Information Act. Each open records request is processed in order of receipt.
  • All information considered public, including basic information, will be released within 10 days from the date of receipt of the request.
  • In an effort to provide prompt and efficient service, any request for information should include the following information (if known): Date of request, Report number, Type of report / incident, Date of report, Address where incident occurred, Parties involved in accident, and any other information to assist Records Division staff in locating desired record.
  • A $5.00 search fee will be charged to perform a search if the offense number, call for service number and/or jailing date you are requesting is not provided on your request.
  • Should you need additional information (e.g. Incident report number, date of incident, etc.) pertaining to a criminal case to complete the below-listed required fields, visit the Collin County Judicial Search Website to obtain the information through their free of charge online services. Collin County Judicial Search or Current Inmates.
  • By law, the Sheriff's Office has 10 days to respond or release the information, which is sought.
  • Within that 10-day period, we will contact you when and if your records are ready for release and inform you of all costs associated with your open records request, which must be paid prior to the release of records.
  • Pursuant to section 552.301(c), Government Code, the Sheriff's Office is not responsible for responding to electronic mail requests sent to any electronic mail address other than the address for the Collin County Sheriff's Office Records Section.
  • Any information to be withheld will be forwarded to the Texas Office of the Attorney General for a ruling. The Attorney General's Office has up to a 90-day response time, which can be extended for larger or voluminous requests. When a final ruling notice has been received by the Sheriff's Office, we have 15 days to release the information ordered by the Attorney General. When a final ruling is made, you will be contacted and provided with a ruling letter.
  • You will be informed of all correspondence between the Sheriff's Office and the Attorney General's Office pertaining to your open records request.
  • The Sheriff's Office does not decipher which information is to be released or withheld.
  • The Attorney General's Office makes the ruling, which is final. All rulings are based upon Texas Law set forth by Texas Legislature.
  • Information concerning the Texas Public Information Act may be found at the Texas Attorney General's Open Government Section.

If you're looking for Court Records (Divorce, Civil, Criminal, Felony, Misdemeanor or Traffic Tickets) this is not the place to request ANY kind of court record please see the information and links below.

  • District Clerk (for district court cases)
  • County Clerk (for County Court at Law cases)
  • Justices of the Peace (for small claims, evictions, traffic cases, etc.)
  • Online Judicial Search (locate the proper court or court records)

Judicial records must be requested and obtained from the clerks of these courts, not this office.

Links & Resources

You may obtain a copy of a Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report (CR-3) (regular or certified) by using the Crash Report Online Purchase System. Customers using the online system receive their report(s) immediately if the report is available for purchase. There is a minimal surcharge for using this system. See the crash site for information on obtaining a crash report online, confidentiality and fees.

If the system cannot identify your individual crash using the information provided, you will not be able to purchase a crash report through this automated facility.